“I am a martial artist” by Karen Eden (Poem)

As I read it, I see lines like “though trained for bodily harm, my intentions are for peace”. These are the lines I wished everybody understood about fighters, we are not machines made for killing, we are normal people, we are your neighbours but apparently everybody gets scared of us. As I said in my first post (Why is everybody afraid of me?) our friends and even families are scared of us, they think we will hit them without a reason. This is why I chose this poem to talk about, because is more than explain that we are fighters, we are also humans, with feelings, and some of us are really sensible to normal stuff hat happens in life, but since we say we fight everybody thinks we are made of steal. Another line that made my jaw dropped was “A path I will not stay from, no matter, win or loose” I think what this means is that there is no space for giving up in the fighting world, no matter if you are iin boxing, krav maga or even taekondo. You just have to stand up from the floor, shake it off, and keep walking like nothing happen, but don’t be ashamed because the strongest people are those that stand up from a lost and are strong enough to keep going with their lives.

Leave a comment